runt(?) @ 3 days old -- UPDATE with 2 new Q's

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by patandchickens, May 3, 2008.

1. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    I picked up my 20 chicks today from a small hatchery about 2 hrs away. All seem fine except that one of the six Golden Campines is *significantly* smaller than the others, and although he/she does eat and drink, spends most of the time standing somewhat unsteadily under the heat lamp or napping. It just doesn't seem to have the same 'zest' as the other chicks. And as I say, it is noticeably smaller than the other GCs.

I haven't the faintest idea whether it is a runt, or has had some Problem, or could even just have hatched a day or two later than the rest of the GC setting? No way to tell.

So should I be doing something and if so what?

Thanks,

Pat

Last edited: May 4, 2008
  2. McGoo

McGoo Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm no expert, but I'd say to wait and see. Just make sure it's got warmth.

ps I have one from my own hatch and got a bunch that were a couple days older. There was one from that group that was smaller and the two of them hang out together and spend more time directly under the heat lamp than the others. they are doing just fine...as far as I can tell.

So if all else seems okay, I'd say leave him/her alone and see what happens.

Good luck [​IMG]

3. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    Pat, I think we MUST find some valium. Not for the chicks, for you! [​IMG] I can't say much, I was the same way for the first week or so, still am sorta.
    I have a definite runt in my group. She stayed under the lights more for the first week or so, but now she's as active and happy as the rest. I worry still that she just isn't gonna make it in the long run, but I don't want to borrow trouble where there really is none.
    I would only step in if I saw that she was being bullied by the larger chicks.

4. Crunchie