1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Runt Broiler Chick

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by kristen_k, May 11, 2011.

1. kristen_k

kristen_k Out Of The Brooder

Apr 28, 2011
    Mason City, Nebraska
    Hi,

I have 46 broilers that are 4 weeks old, unfortunatly I have lost 4. I have one chick that is not really growing. All the others are getting big and growing feathers. The little one (I mean really little) only has feathers on its wings and tail. I am feeding 22% protein and they all have plenty of room in the brooder house. This is my first year raising chickens and I don't know what to do with the runt. I have a co worker who raises chickens and she said that if I leave him with the others they will start pecking him and kill him. I havent noticed the others harming him yet, I am just scared i'm going to find him dead one of these mornings. I was wandering if you would recommend seperating him from the others, or would that stress him out??

Thank you all!!

2. PotterWatch

PotterWatch My Patronus is a Chicken

Apr 22, 2008
    Virginia
    Can you post a picture of the chick with one of the others next to it? How much smaller than the others is it? I wonder if a chick slipped in your order that isn't a broiler.

3. kristen_k

Apr 28, 2011
    Mason City, Nebraska
    I will get a picture up sometime tomorrow evening. He is probably about 1/3 the size of the others.

4. bigredfeather

bigredfeather Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 1, 2008
    Yorkshire, Ohio
    Leghorn mixed in with the CX would be my guess w/out a pic.

Last edited: May 11, 2011
  5. kristen_k

Apr 28, 2011
    Mason City, Nebraska
    Here are some pictures I got. He isn't very photogenic. [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: May 11, 2011
  6. J.S. Webb