Sad News. :(

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by KinderKorner, Apr 15, 2009.

1. KinderKorner

KinderKorner Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 8, 2009
    Southern Illinois
    I candled only 4 eggs today cause I was curious but I didn't want to open the bator too much. It's day 6.

3 out of the 4 seemed to have blood-rings. But this is only my second time candling so I'm no expert. I'm hoping I am wrong and they were just veins... But I'm pretty sure. Wah!

I did everything right this time. I'm not opening the bator except once every day or two, my temp is at 102, my humidity is between 43-45%. The only problems I had were the first 2 days or so, the temp kept bouncing up to 105. But I just it under control quickly. Could that of killed 3/4 of my 30 eggs!?

2. LilDucky85

LilDucky85 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 8, 2009
    Northern, Illinois
    Check out my candled eggs in my BYC page. If there are any veins in the circle then they are alive. I made this mistake once.

3. KinderKorner

Mar 8, 2009
    Southern Illinois
    That gives me hope! Cause I did see veining. But also a blood ring. But if you say if there's veins they are alive! yay

4. LilDucky85

Feb 8, 2009
    Northern, Illinois
    The circle seems to move outward as the veins do. If you see veins they are definitely alive! The information can be misleading when it comes to blood rings. No one says that there WILL be a ring of blood around the egg (accompanied with veining in the center of it) in a living chick too. The websites should say there will be a ring no matter what, but its the embryo and veins that you have to look for!

I just threw this together for you lol. Forgive the crappy picture quality from my cell phone camera. It seemed to catch the early blood ring the best.

[​IMG]

5. TennesseeTruly

TennesseeTruly Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 5, 2009
    Church Hill, TN