Safe quail coop?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by TallHound, Jul 1, 2011.

1. TallHound

TallHound Out Of The Brooder

Apr 22, 2011
    I am looking to build a coop for my button quail. I need something off the ground and coon proof. I'm also concerned about the flooring. This is my first quail and I'm not sure what is best for his feet. I would love to hear from anyone about their best quail setups.

Thanks

2. C&Rman

C&Rman Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 26, 2011
    Nevada
    I am new to quail too, and I will be trying to hatch coturnix quail! But Button quail will die in the cold. I think temps below 60-70 will kill them, thats why most people keep them in a fish tank in their house. I dont know much about buttons you can check the quail forum.

3. TallHound

Apr 22, 2011
    He is an indoor bird but the weather is beautiful and I'm sure he would enjoy the outside at 70 - 85 degrees. I have been sitting him out in his indoor cage, but it is difficult to move every time. I just cant watch him constantly and his indoor cage could be shredded by a coon or dog.
    Thanks for responding.

4. bryan99705

bryan99705 Chillin' With My Peeps

why not build a small open floored chicken tractor out of 1x2 welded wire that is skirted (to fill in the ground height difference and topped) Then you can simply roll outside when the weather is nice and in on a old piece of carpet for cold days?

5. HappyChickenLover

HappyChickenLover Chillin' With My Peeps