1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Sand Bed Bottom...Pine Shavings Top

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Superior Chicks, Dec 4, 2008.

1. Superior Chicks

Superior Chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

In our new coop:

6x4 Glassboard floor...we are considering a 2" sand botom layer covered by a topcoat of pine shavings of 2-4".

I've never done this before, but I have read alot of posts favoring this method.

Pros and cons appreciated!

Ma

2. tackyrama

tackyrama Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 14, 2008
    Central Minnesota USA
    I would go with just all shavings. It will all get mixed together anyway and then will all have to be replaced eventually. Also shavings will be dryer.

3. ivan3

ivan3 spurredon Premium Member

Jan 27, 2007
    BOCOMO
    We started using sand because of the turkeys. We initially covered the plywood flooring in both the turkey shed and the chicken coop with scrounged remnants of congoleum covered with straw and pine shavings. The turkeys would fly down from their roost in the morning, hit the straw and shavings, and slide out the door on their butts! We covered the the shed floor with ~3" of sand under the shavings/straw and cured that problem. We then did the same with the coop. Easier to rake and, come spring just that much more sand in the run (add about 40lb. every few months and change out yearly). We clean the coop and shed on a daily basis so have no opinion on use for deep litter, etc. We think the sand compacts a bit when our fat, old, production girls and roo thump down from their roosts in the morning (only about 30" high), maybe keep `em spry a few more years. Sand does help keep the coop and shed drier (very big difference in turkey shed during `mud' season).

4. Superior Chicks