sand for coop and run floor

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by ridethecurrent, Jun 17, 2011.

1. ridethecurrent

ridethecurrent New Egg

Jun 17, 2011
    I'm new at this...this is my first post...Hi!

Anyway, after reading about sand, it sounded perfect. dust baths, smooth chicken feet, and unlike deep litter, they can dig through to get worms. But I'm not able to simply rake out the poop, as was asserted in the various articles and forums. The girls walk on it and it gets mixed in with the sand and I'm wondering if it will end up being a health hazard for them.

2. nurseshelly

nurseshelly Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 24, 2011
    Gilbert AZ
    Quote:Hi!
    [​IMG]
    I use sand too, but I use a cat litter scoop to scoop the poop out. It works really well. I do of course scoop some dirt out too, but I just put a new bag or two in every once in a while. Right now it's working really well because I can spray the sand down and they take wet sand baths to cool off - LOL!

3. gale65

gale65 Chillin' With My Peeps

We haven't done the sand yet, but believe it or not, I was looking for youtube videos of people scooping the poop because I also envision it getting all squished and broken up and mixed in with the sand. No luck though. [​IMG]

4. harrisville chicken

harrisville chicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2009
    Northern Utah
    We have sand in their run and pine pellets (also sold for pellet burning stoves) in the coop. See my BYC page for photos, the run is ground level and the coop is elevated.
    I love the pine pellets, they quickly absorb the moisture from the poop and the only smell in there is pine, not poop.

5. ridethecurrent

ridethecurrent New Egg

Jun 17, 2011