1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Sand question...

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by bloom_ss, Jul 20, 2011.

1. bloom_ss

bloom_ss Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 23, 2011
    Spokane Valley, WA
    Since I am new to this whole chicken thing I figured I would ask all you experts before I continue with what I have here. Today I went and bought sand for my coop. I have read that a lot of you use it kind of like kitty litter and scoop the poop out with a litter scoop. So, in hopes that I could do the same I went and bought some bags of sand today...I had read somewhere on this forum that medium grit is the best to get because it has different size grains of sand that is good for the chickens. Anywho, I got the sand, brought it home, and as I was taking the bags out of my car I read on the bag that the sand contains silica and not to breathe the dust. [​IMG] Obviously, if we can't breathe the dust then it can't be good for chickens either. So, my point is, what kind of sand do I need and where do I get it?? BTW this is the sand I got: http://www.sakrete.com/products/detail.cfm/prod_alias/MultiPurpose-Sand and I got it at Home Depot. Does play sand work for chickens? I saw some of that there so maybe I could just go trade it if that will work. [​IMG] Please help this newbie!! Thanks! [​IMG]

~Stephanie

2. lbartsch

lbartsch Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 3, 2011
    I don't know the answer but I am grateful you asked the question as I have the same one. Will watch what happens on your thread very closely.

3. NewOldMotherHen

NewOldMotherHen Out Of The Brooder

Apr 23, 2011
    Shenandoah Valley