Sandbox run

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by frog522, Aug 26, 2010.

1. frog522

frog522 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 16, 2010
    San Jose, CA
    I finally decided to take the leap of faith and add sand to my run. My run is currently on top of concrete and is about 4'x8' for two chickens. I spent yesterday making a sandbox frame that borders the entire run and goes on the inside.

Can I go ahead and start putting sand directly on top of the concrete inside the sandbox frame? Do I need to put something in between the sand and the concrete floor?

I just wanted to see if there is anything I might be forgetting...

(I'm a hardware store newbie and at first all the bags in the masonry section looked the same, then I realized wait...concrete mix can't be right...that wouldn't be good if it rained [​IMG])

2. Yay Chicks!

Yay Chicks! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2010
    Forest Grove, OR
    What kind of sand did you end up getting? (Sorry, don't have the answer to your question)

3. frog522

Jun 16, 2010
    San Jose, CA
    I ended up getting all-purpose sand at Home Depot. In our area the sand is grey colored (not very pretty) but has a nice assortment of grain sizes (medium coarse). I went to Lowe's today to check out their brand of all-purpose sand but the grain size was very fine like the play sand they are sell.

I'm banking on the larger grain to help with drainage. I also drilled holes near the bottom of the sandbox frame to help with drainage too. I hope it all helps! *fingers crossed*[​IMG]

4. oldchickenlady

oldchickenlady Chillin' With My Peeps

May 9, 2010
    Cabot, AR