SassySuz55

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by SassySuz55, Dec 15, 2013.

1. SassySuz55

SassySuz55 New Egg

Dec 10, 2013
    Hello from West Norriton Pa!I have wanted chickens for many years now, done some research and learning about chickens, coops etc. Last July 28th, a friend called and said she was going to a nearby place to get some chickens. I went along and came home with 4 chickens. Being a novice, I asked them to pick 4 different breeds, of all hens. So I had a Speckled Sussex, a Lavender, a Blue Orp, and a Dominique. I was told I would have eggs by end of Sept as they were about 12 weeks old. So, I fed and cared for these 4 , August went, Sept went and around mid October, I called my friend, who was my 'chicken-mentor' by now, asking about why I do not have eggs... I had done all she had suggested, putting a fake egg in the coop, a golf ball too. All to not avail, not 1 egg....my 'chicken mentor; came over, took a 5 second look at my chickens and said : Oh Ooohhh, you have all roosters!!... well, 1 lost the Lavender to a fox, traded the Dom and Blue for a couple red star hens and my friend purchased me 2 other reds. So, now I have 4 hens and a rooster, and am getting 2-3 eggs per day, one medium and one jumbo. Though I will get rid of my rooster (the Specked Sussex) this spring ;((. I also am a gardener, love to cook, and have a small outdoor pond,
    Enjoy time with my husband and 15 year old daughter and our 4 cats.

2. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Welcome to BYC.

3. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC & Merry Christmas!

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture