Saw them breeding today!!

Discussion in 'Peafowl' started by Glenmar, Apr 8, 2011.

1. Glenmar

Glenmar Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 17, 2011
    VIRGINIA
    Ok. I am so excited. I saw my peacocks breeding today.
    Here's the questions:

They are free range, but sleep in the barn at night. Should I pen them up so that she has to lay in the barn?

How many days until the first egg? (I think that I read 14?)

I was thinking of trying to incubate the first eggs and let her sit on a second batch, but i have some chicken eggs going
    in the incubator this weekend. I was going to practice on them, because I have never done this before.

Any advise would be great.

Thanks

2. wannabchick

wannabchick Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 27, 2010
    Northen Va
    Now don't listen to me too much..because iam a learner..

But was told, you might not want her free ranging if she sets on eggs..they will be eaten by a wild animal..since they lay the whole time on them

I then would either have her in a pen or yep, pin her up

Second, I hear what some do is let them sit on them for the first week then incubate them..or try a couple in the bator but only after she set on them for a week..I incubate chicken eggs like crazy never a peafowl and read it's super hard unless a hen set on them for a while

Now others will chime in and know far then me..but wanted to share what I learned

And how exciting..congrats

How old is your breeding pair?

3. Glenmar

Jan 17, 2011
    VIRGINIA
    Good answer. That has given me even more ideas.
    And more questions

If I pen her up in the barn or not, and she sits on them for a week, then I take them away to incubate, will she still lay another clutch?????

My neighbor across the street has a boat load of peas that are all free range. But of course I do not want anything to happen to mine.
    I am not sure of the ages. I think 4 and 3? The hen is a spalding. There is a picture of her in an earlier post.