Saxony drakes and ducks..... HELP!!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by saxonyducklove, Dec 4, 2012.

1. saxonyducklove

saxonyducklove New Egg

Dec 4, 2012
    Pittsboro, IN
    Ok, so I have 10 Saxony ducks... They are all super pretty and healthy... But I am worried about the female to male ratio. I have 4 males and 6 females, is that ok? The females have not started laying is that why?? They have a big pond to play in during the day and run around and in the evening they go in the duck house my dad and I made! They dont have a light in there is that also making them not lay? They are 7 months old aproxamently! Please help!!

2. zooweemama

zooweemama Chillin' With My Peeps

That's too tight. You want about 4-6 ladies to 1 drake. We have 11 ladies and 3 drakes - only one is sexually aggressive. This number is working for us. No one has any bald necks or getting over mated. Ducks like to mate. A lot. Like...a LOT. They are maniacs the first year (I read) and this is my first year and they are mating a lot. A lot. lol

3. saxonyducklove

saxonyducklove New Egg

Dec 4, 2012
    Pittsboro, IN
    Ok... Thanks! So what should I do with the other ones and should I choose to keep the more domanent one or one of the lesser ones?

4. zooweemama

I wouldn't necessarily choose the most dominant. I don't like aggressive ducks, chickens etc. So I would make sure that the one you keep is one you like. If you are breeding just for backyard pleasure and for eggs and not worried about standards- keep the one you like and make sure it doesn't have any weird defects or isn't weak or sickly. If you are concerned about standards- you will need to find out what the breed standards are and then make your choice of which to keep.

1. You can process them and eat them (or put in freezer).
    2. You can get more females (hehe works like chicken math).