Scared Ducklings

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Finnisher, Jun 20, 2017.

1. Finnisher

Finnisher Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2016
    Hi,

Just got 11 crested pekin x runner yesterday and they're not eating or drinking. They're just hudled in a corner of the brooder. I dipped their bills in water and pecked at food.

They're also in there with turkey poults that are eating and drinking well. The turkey poults are pecking at the ducklings webbed feet and harassing them.

Both the ducklings and poults are a week old, ducklings maybe couple days older.
    How can i give these ducklings a better quality of life without changing brooders?

Last edited: Jun 20, 2017
  2. djstanczak

djstanczak Out Of The Brooder

Mar 31, 2017
    I am new to ducks but we just got ours a couple of weeks ago and we put down the bottom of a clay planter about 2" high by 10" diameter and put about 1" of water in it them sprinkled some food in it and they went to town. The red clay is not slippery. I did change it about 5 times a day.

3. Tlmcq

Tlmcq Chillin' With My Peeps Premium Member

Mar 17, 2017
    Pomeroy, OH
    The turkey poults may not be allowing them to eat or drink due to harassment. Sorry to say, but I would put them in another brooder, ducks are wet n messy and may cause sickness in your poults and the ducks are not gonna need the heat like poults do. You can just put your ducks in a big tote or cardboard box to brood them they don't need much other than food or water and 100 watt lightbulb which they'll probably only use a week or 2

4. Finnisher

Apr 26, 2016
    So do the ducks need heat or not?

5. TyKyra Lancaster

TyKyra Lancaster Out Of The Brooder

Jun 11, 2017
    Yes, between 2 and 6 weeks depending on the weather and how fast their feathers grow.

6. Tlmcq

Tlmcq Chillin' With My Peeps Premium Member

Mar 17, 2017
    Pomeroy, OH