1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Scared in Minnesota! Seeking Advice for Extreme Cold Temperatures

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Huhnerhausgal, Oct 24, 2014.

1. Huhnerhausgal

Huhnerhausgal Out Of The Brooder

May 30, 2014
    Hi everyone,

I'm new to chicken farming -- my family and I added six pullets to our already full household in April -- we live in an inner ring suburb of Minneapolis where my husband has constructed a very sturdy, insulated coop with one overhead light and an outlet. Though I'd given thought to the winter it came too soon as it always does -- and I'm trying to gather info to keep our flock healthy. The coop itself is on a south facing side of our brick (unheated) garage - which does hold some sunlight heat. There is a side garden with a six foot fence -- and so it is somewhat sheltered from the wind. We built it with a space underneath for dust bathing -- and a rather large enclosed and secure run. Currently I have a funnel/metal barrel type feeder hanging in the coop and an igloo cooler rigged up with poultry nipples for water as well as additional water in the run. I wonder what makes the most sense in Minnesota where last winter we had a string of six weeks with subzero temps and even colder windchills. I would love any advice from people with experience in the northern climates - how to keep the water thawed, how to prevent frostbite -- and generally anything you wish you'd known about chicken raising in very cold winter temperatures.

Thanks,

Pam

2. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/winter-coop-temperatures