Scared My Turkeys Will Freeze This Winter! Any Advice Very Welcome!

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by venetianblinds, Oct 29, 2013.

1. venetianblinds

venetianblinds Out Of The Brooder

Oct 17, 2013
    Usk, British Columbia
    This is my first time raising turkeys; I have a male and female broad-breasted bronze. They're about 4 months right now and seem to be doing well. They have a good-sized fenced area outside to roam around in and appear happy and healthy. Their current "coop" though, is just a chicken ark and only has wire on the front and has a tin A-frame roof with no insulation. I'm wondering if they will be okay in the winter with just that as their shelter. I am planning on butchering them around Christmas but it will be well into winter by that time. I live in Usk, British Columbia so it gets pretty cold and snowy. Any suggestions? I want them to be comfortable during the colder months.

2. venetianblinds

Oct 17, 2013
    Usk, British Columbia
    [​IMG]

This is them!

3. mrclif

mrclif Out Of The Brooder

May 27, 2013
    Alabama
    I'm new to raising turkeys too but mine seem to like the cooler weather better. Their eating like horses now though. Wild birds seem to do good in the cold but I dono bout your weather where you are. Maybe someone will chime in with advice.

4. Fat Man

Fat Man Out Of The Brooder

Aug 14, 2010
    I think turkeys can handle BC winters. Just give them a place they can get out of the weather if they want and a source of unfrozen water.

[​IMG]

5. Lagerdogger

Lagerdogger Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 30, 2010
    Aitkin, MN
    My turkeys stay outside in -30 F with no shelter other than some spruce trees. They do fine. They make their own trails through the snow. You shouldn't have any trouble.

6. Makomd

Makomd Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 24, 2011
    ES of MD , USA