scraps/free range/comm feed

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by polychickens, Nov 1, 2007.

1. polychickens

polychickens Out Of The Brooder

Apr 23, 2007
    My layer ration says NOT to feed additional grains. I assume this is so that they sell more of the processed feed.

It also says to feed 85# per bird per year...AND to offer it free choice and keep bowls half full.

Is there a rule of thumb whereby scraps and foraging decrease the commercial feed schedule? If I feed 35 hens 8 pounds of ration per day, can I decrease it to 7 lbs if I give a pound of table scraps? What about free ranging? If I allow them to forage for 2 hours/day each evening, can I expect to cut back slightly on commercial feed?

I may be the only one here, but I have to do the math and keep costs as low as possible and feed is my highest outlay now.

Thanks!
    Poly

2. TransplantedTexan

TransplantedTexan Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2007
    Bear Creek, Wi
    Wow!, I am kinda new to this, my first year, but I have 21 birds and feed them no where close to 7-8 pounds a day.
    I have a little tuppeware container, maybe 4-5 cups worth.
    I fill this and it fills a trough. There are 4 troughs, so about 16-20 cups x 2 a day. I also throw a little scratch, like a few hand fulls a day now.

I would guess about 4 pounds is what I feed a day.

Last edited: Nov 1, 2007
  3. polychickens

polychickens Out Of The Brooder

Apr 23, 2007
    Hey Texan, it sounds to me like our numbers are pretty close. If you are at 30-40 cups per day for 21 birds, that has to be nearly equal to my roughly 8 pounds for 35 on a 'per bird' basis.
    Poly

4. TransplantedTexan

TransplantedTexan Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2007
    Bear Creek, Wi
    Yeah, a buddy and I got to talking about it here at work and I guess so. I did not initially think that amount would weigh that much.

5. picklespickles

picklespickles Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 27, 2007