1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Screw myself out of deep litter?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by kira782, Jul 18, 2011.

1. kira782

kira782 Out Of The Brooder

May 18, 2011
    Littleton, Colorado
    It's amazing. No matter how long and hard I thought about all the little details I wanted my coop (https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=542609) to have I still forgot to raise the pop door so I can do deep litter! Currently it sits flush with the ground and measures 13" x 16". The opening is framed in place so moving it is more trouble than it is worth. If I put a 6" board in front of it will my large breed chickens be able to squeeze through a 10" high opening? I'm new to chickens and can't quite grasp of how big a full grown one is or how they maneuver!

2. Mac in Wisco

Mac in Wisco Antagonist

May 25, 2007
    SW Wisconsin
    No big deal. They still go through the opening. Our hens will sneak through under a 3" to 4" gap. Later, if you think it's too much of a bottleneck, just remove the board. Yes, some litter will spill out, no big deal.

3. Hangin Wit My Peeps

Hangin Wit My Peeps AutumnBreezeChickens.com

We did the same thing! The door is flush with the floor and we have pine in the run always. I guess when someone asks the question..."what would you change if you were to build your coop over" we know what to tell them!

4. Mia_

Mia_ Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 27, 2011
    South Puget Sound