Sea weeds, kelp, potassium Iodide?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Notus, Dec 4, 2014.

1. Notus

Notus Out Of The Brooder

Dec 4, 2014
    Here in Scotland I have direct access to the sea. I am well aware of the health benefits of sea weeds to us humans and in use as an organic fertilizer. Personally I do not like the stuff.
    However I do wonder of what benefit if any this would be to the birds and then the soil as I compost for my garden?
    Then there is silver nitrate which is also a natural antibacterial agent. I believe it was an initial source of silver nitrate for photographic film. (Oh I'm a physicist, not a chemist) :/
    What I do know is that if I were to use is to blanch in fresh boiling water then dry, due to Norovirus.
    Yeah I know if we have nuclear fallout my wee friends would be protected... lol[​IMG]

Anyone?

Last edited: Dec 4, 2014
  2. chooks4life

chooks4life Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2013
    Australia
    Historically, a lot of rocky coastal regions with very little topsoil have been farmed by harvesting and using seaweeds as fertilizer, specifically kelp. Great for the garden, but can really stink, according to some noses. Can make the soil too rich for certain plants though; it was sowed in during fallow years for some crops, and applied directly during growth for other crops.