Seasoning Cast Iron

Discussion in 'Egg, Chicken, & Other Favorite Recipes' started by Stacykins, Jul 1, 2011.

1. Stacykins

Stacykins Overrun With Chickens

Jan 19, 2011
    Escanaba, MI
    As much as the internet is helpful, I am finding SO much mixed information regarding seasoning cast iron. I had a set of cast iron pans from my grandmother, and I'd lent them to my sister. I just dug them out of where they were packed, hoping to make some cornbread in them and THE SEASONING IS GONE!!!! Perfectly seasoned cast iron cookware lovingly cared for over the years is now ruined. Now I have to start from square one. I've never done that before, only done maintenance seasoning, i.e. wiping with oil and then heat 'til smoke on the stovetop.

Can I use coconut oil on it? I only have that and olive oil on hand. I tend to use the food quality coconut oil in soap making, but it seems like it would work well with seasoning. I know I'll have to probably put on several layers and bake the cookware in the oven for each layer to build the seasoning back up again.

2. SallyF

SallyF Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 5, 2009
    Middle Tennessee
    I've had better luck seasoning them with a harder shortening, such as frying chicken in lard or Crisco. Once they're seasoned I wipe them with oil for storage. If I just wipe them with the oil and then heat them, they seem to get sticky.

3. Gardengirl 2011

Gardengirl 2011 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 3, 2011
    Central Florida
    I've just always heated them really hot on the stovetop and cooked a pound of bacon in them. Then drain the fat, let cool and wipe out.

4. BarefootMom

BarefootMom Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 20, 2010
    Half Way, Missouri
    if the pan hasn't been used in awhile or is washed by a person that doesn't know how to use cast iron (my DH) I do this method:

Heat the oven to 250- 300F