1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Sebrights?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by watchdogps, Jun 11, 2011.

1. watchdogps

watchdogps Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2011
    Central Ohio
    I am brand new to chickens, and I will probably start with a hand-me-down flock (I've seen quite a few freebie birds and even groups of six or so that people just need to get rid of), but when I get more comfortable and versed in chicken keeping, I might try some particualr breeds. I really love the looks of the sebrights. Can anyone tell me more about them?

2. Alicia G

Alicia G Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 29, 2010
    Nova Scotia
    I had sebrights for a few years, they were nice. They average out at around 22-26 ounces (so there a bantam), the roosters are hen feathered, which means they wont have the long neck and tail feathers, rather the same as the hens. They are rose combed, and they have blue/slat legs. They are a well muscled breed. come in three colors-silver laced and golden laced are the two most common but there are buff laced as well. I found them to be a friendly breed, full of energy and spunk. heres a link to see some pics and get more info on the breed http://www.feathersite.com/Poultry/CGP/Sebr/BRKSebrights.html
    Hope
    that helps!

3. watchdogps

Jun 4, 2011
    Central Ohio
    Glad to hear "friendly". I want easy to handle and preferably interactive.

4. SlowMoneyFarm

SlowMoneyFarm Chillin' With My Peeps

May 11, 2011
    Nauvoo