SECOND Chicken Death Please HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by sondieblondie, Aug 25, 2014.

1. sondieblondie

sondieblondie Out Of The Brooder

Jun 7, 2014
    I don't know what is happening to my birds. I am new at chicken raising as this is my first batch of hens but I'm starting to get nervous as I just now had my second one pass...

I started out with 6 chickens and 2 ducks:
    1 salmon favorelle born 5/23
    2 Easter Eggers born 6/6
    1 Gray Olive Egger born 5/23
    1 Copper Maranvborn 5/23
    1 Dominque born 6/6
    2 Magpie Ducks

First my salmon favorelle died nine days ago at 13 weeks old (my friend Debbie who we got our birds the same time SF died 16 days before mine) so I thought maybe that batch didn't get vaccinated by mistake.

My easter egger passed away TODAY at only 11 weeks old. I don't know what is going on! :( She was roosting on the coop this morning before I went to work with the other girls.

The only signs I have had with my SF is that she was roosting alone at the time (they are a loner bird so I thought this was normal) and then instead of roosting alone in the coop she would try and roost outside on a pallet I have leaned up on the coop, the next night she was sleeping on the ground so I knew something wasn't right when I picked her up she tweaked out but did not make any noises. She was found the next morning dead :( I was devastated.

Eating and drinking was normal. I still feed them grower as they are not ready for laying feed. I have a 16'x12' run, three different water's (as I have ducks in the run with the chickens) and the coop is well ventilated and they can come and go inside the coop/run all day and night as they please as I never shut the door. The weather has been nice over here but nothing over 75-80 degree's so I doubt it is heat.