Seemingly sickly 3 day old chick; husband terribly concerned. Help!

2bradleys

In the Brooder
10 Years
Sep 23, 2009
Hi all-

This is my first attempt at raising chicks. They arrived yesterday from Ideal Poultry; they were shipped on the 6th. All 20 arrived alive and apparently healthy. They are in our guest room, with a heat lamp, in a kiddie pool with pine shavings. All have been eating/drinking well, scattered about the kiddie pool, quite active and peeping.

A couple of hours ago I went in to play with them, and noticed that one little chick...a Salmon Faverolle (the husband's breed pick, naturally) had pasty butt. When I found this chick, I knew *nothing* about pasty butt other than that it exists, lol. So I quickly got online and read through some other threads. I used a warm wet washcloth but it wasn't really helping much. I pulled off most of the poop, being very careful. There's still a bit left but the...exit door...doesn't appear to be clogged. After I removed the pasty poop, there was some whitish/yellowish ooze coming out, but just a little. The poor little chicks bum is rather red. Hubby put some Preparation H on it.

This chick is smaller than the rest. It seems pretty lethargic, has been sleeping since I discovered this problem and doesn't resist being handled whatsoever, whereas the others still protest quite a bit. Hubby says it seems a duller yellow than the other Faverolle chicks.

Could there be another problem than the pasty butt? Does pasty butt cause lethargy? I really don't think this has been a problem prior to sometime today; we spend quite a lot of time watching/playing with the chicks and I hadn't noticed it before, but it was obvious right away when I went in there earlier.

Any advice much appreciated.