sell me on this

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by kinnip, Sep 8, 2008.

1. kinnip

kinnip Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 24, 2008
    Carrollton, GA
    I'm trying to convince myself that processing my extra roos is the right thing to do. I've never done it before, or even witnessed it. I know it won't be and shouldn't be easy. I'm just trying to find that magic turn of phrase the convinces me that this is good husbandry.
    If I just can't do it, does anyone know a small processor in GA?

2. snowydiamonds

snowydiamonds Chillin' With My Peeps

I did cornishX for the first time this summer, two different flocks. I put it in my mind that it would be just like the wild birds we've hunted and eaten all my life. Still, I insisted it had to be done where my geese could not see me! And, I also insisted I was the one holding them when the hatchet fell...they knew me, I held them and fed them, they needed as stress free death as possible, I felt, and it worked well except I had a complete rain suit on and had to hold them where they wouldn't bruise in the death throes.

I am dragging my feet now on my extra roo's...but I'm far away from others and feel they'd die just as kindly as the CornishX and feed me, I've just got to do it before they begin fighting...to keep it all pleasant and stress free as possible.

With the CornishX, it was easy to feel thankful afterward as I could see if I'd tried to keep them longer, they would have died on me. With the extra roo's, its easy to say that they'll begin tearing each other up and don't need to live w/that kind of stress...but choosing which one to keep...that's another story...that is NOT easy!

3. kinnip

Feb 24, 2008
    Carrollton, GA
    You've got a good heart. It's precisely the thought that they trust me that makes this so hard. Of course, it makes it easier on the bird. I guess I have a little selfishness to get over.

4. snowydiamonds

snowydiamonds Chillin' With My Peeps