Semi-Broody Hen?

dunnmom

Crowing
Mar 30, 2016
Oklahoma
I'm still pretty new at this. I'm trying to determine if my Buff O is about to go broody on me. This week for about 2 days, she had a pale comb and wattles, was picking at her food, being lazy. I don't think she laid during that time. Suddenly, her color is back and she's eating. I think she laid an egg yesterday, although I'm not certain. She's been in and out of the coop, but has been sitting longer than usual in the nestbox (up to an hour or so). I've noticed no sign of obvious illness. No worms, no external parasites, no weird poop, her crop seems fine. Could she be in a hormonal transition, as in semi-broody? She turned a year old just before April.

Honestly, it doesn't really sound like she's broody, though the way each starts up can be individual. I do have broody hens who don't do the following (though rare!), but if she is not clucking under her breath or screaming at you, it could be something off internally, though she is fairly young. If the weather suddenly turned very hot, she may not have had enough water, hard to really say, symptoms are too vague. Watch her closely and make sure she has lots of cool water during the day.

Indeed, a hen can be showing signs of being broody for several weeks before she actually throws the switch to full broodiness.