sense of satisfaction

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by raro, Sep 14, 2010.

1. raro

raro Out Of The Brooder

Aug 9, 2010
    I'm a middle school teacher and I go over the newspaper every day with my students. A few days ago there was a big newspaper article about the latest egg recall. It was trying to discuss how salmonella was originally thought to come from the egg shells, so 50 years or so ago people started having to wash their eggs to get them up to standard to sell. That helped for a while, but disease has really expanded in the past several years, especially with the recall of half a billion eggs last month.

So one of my students starts looking at the article and comments about how it looks like their conclusion is that the disease spreads so much because hens are kept too close together in their own feces in these huge farms. We got to talking and I mentioned that I don't have to worry about it because I have my own egg source. They were all fascinated. These are city kids who have never thought about where their food comes from. So yesterday I brought in some hardboiled brown eggs and they were all excited to try them.

Then one of my students says, "Wait a sec. Are you telling me that THIS came out of a chicken's butt?! And I'm eating it?!?" He had never realized where eggs came from. So we talked about that a bit and they were really interested.

I don't want to put down the suffering of those who were affected by diseased eggs, but there is a sense of satisfaction that comes from knowing that I am doing everything in my power to protect my family from such things, and from participating in the suffering of chickens. I know we are not immune from getting something, but, I don't know, I guess I just like knowing where my eggs are coming from and that I'm responsible for it. And I really liked being able to teach a rising generation about it!
    Is it just me, or do others out there have the same sense of satisfaction?