separating a roo

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by kimice, Sep 22, 2011.

1. kimice

kimice Out Of The Brooder

Apr 30, 2011
    Hello all! Just had a quick question. I have been separating my roo from my hens for about a week now. He has his own little house with a roost and the girls have the coop. He sleeps in there by himself at night, but he stays out during most of the day while I am at work. I do let the girls out for a couple of hours each afternoon and pretty much all day, if I'm there, on the weekends. This is my first time having a flock. I did it simply for the reason of not having my hens harrased all day. So, I am just wondering if this is acceptable, or does he need to be with the hens all the time? [​IMG]

2. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    Providing you have enough hens for your roo, I see no reason to seperate. A roo lives to care for and protect his hens. That's his job.

If you find that he's giving one individual hen too much "attention" they make saddles for hens.

3. kimice

Apr 30, 2011
    He has 5 hens so I'm hoping that should be enough. oh boy...now i feel bad! [​IMG] When I go home today I will let him in with the hens. It is funny though, because I don't even have to chase him into his house. When I go out to the barn at dark he is in his house and the girls are in the nesting boxes in the coop. He is such a good roo. [​IMG]

4. ReikiStar

ReikiStar Chillin' With My Peeps

He should be fine. Would he prefer to be with the girls, of course. If he had a buddy roo it would be even better but at this stage, they would probably fight esp. since they weren't raised together and can see the girls.