1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Separating hatch mates/hard stomach bumps

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Junkybird, May 3, 2009.

1. Junkybird

Junkybird Out Of The Brooder

May 3, 2009
    Dacusville, SC
    I am new to chickens and have a question about separating chicks and keeping one by itself. I have 6 week old Dominickers, 4 week old RIR's, and four 3 week old Americanas. All but the Americanas have been put outside into the coop with a lamp.

I would like to add in the Americanas, BUT one of them is a runt. It is literally 1/3 the size of its hatch mates. It only has it's wing feathers coming in, and it just so much smaller.

My question is this: Can I put the other three outside in the coop and keep the runt inside in a brooder? Is it okay to separate one chick by itself? From other posts about runts, it sounds like it probably won't make it anyway. OR should I go ahead and put them all in the coop and hope for the best. Will it's hatch mates "protect" it in any way?

It doesn't have pasty butt, but it does have a hard lump near it's anus, not the crop. From prior reading, I tried molasses, olive oil, warm water bath soaks, massaging, etc. It is eating, drinking, scratching, behaving normally.

2. Junkybird

May 3, 2009
    Dacusville, SC
    I'm so bummed. This was my first post and I didn't get any responses [​IMG] Nobody has suggestions about keeping one chick by itself until it is a little bigger. I am just worried that you aren't supposed to do that. I just don't want to do something wrong.

3. noitulover

noitulover Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 23, 2009
    Central Virginia
    not sure what to do [​IMG] sorry...

hatchmates definitely won't protect it.

if a chicken is sick/injured, they will peck each other to death.