Serama Eggs?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Woods_Woman, Nov 10, 2009.

1. Woods_Woman

Woods_Woman Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 21, 2009
    Oregon Rain Forest
    What's the trick to these little one's? Anything different I should know about. I was shipped 4 but only one proved to be fertile, I checked for viability on day 17 before lock down, and thought it looked good. Here we are day 22 and nothing going on, I am thinking it's a dead one.

2. IcedMochaChick

IcedMochaChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 7, 2008
    Nebraska
    I'm a newbie, but I've tried hatching the seramas a few times. Atually, I have eggs hatching right now. From what I've read, they don't ship as well as other eggs. Some people say they start hatching on day 19, others say 21. They've all started hatching on day 19 for me. I keep the temp between 99.5 and 101. I try to keep the humidity around 50%, then bump it to 70% for the hatch. They still seem to loose a lot of moisture. Someone with more experience will probably be more help to you. Good luck [​IMG]

3. Woods_Woman

Oct 21, 2009
    Oregon Rain Forest
    Thanks for the info. I'd love to hatch some, but no luck so far on my first try, better luck I suppose for the future.

4. Buck Creek Chickens

Buck Creek Chickens Have Incubator, Will Hatch

Nov 26, 2008
    Neenah, WI
    the secret with serama eggs is the less you handle them in the incubator the better, I never candle till day 18. 50% humidity,is what I use. With shipped it really depends on how they where packed and how the PO handled them. I've shipped serama and received them with great hatches on both ends. and serama are the most fertile in winter and early spring

5. BluegrassSeramas

BluegrassSeramas Serama Savvy

Aug 25, 2008
    Central Kentucky
    You never know how the PO handles them, but that being said they are just a total enigma IMO, lol.

I have shipped birds across the U.S. and there have been great hatches.