Serious Question for serious breeders (culling)

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by BoldogKennel, Jun 17, 2011.

1. BoldogKennel

BoldogKennel Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 29, 2010
    Washington State
    Hi. Last year I gathered together most of my foundation stock (added a bit more this spring) and have hatched quite a few chicks. They are from a week old to 4 months old now. When I did a little dog breeding I was a ruthless culler, and knew exactly what to cull for. But I'm a chicken newbie. I have some specific questions on what to cull for. I do know the obvious ones, crooked toes, deformaties, etc. But am less sure about "keel". My breed is OEG game/American Game, (large fowl) and I have heard again and again about the "keel". I know it is the "breastbone" and that it should be straight, but is there anything else?

Color is about the last thing I would cull on, and I understand all breeds are different on that. If there is anyone on here that breeds large game fowl (not orientals) who knows any specifics, I sure would appreciate any help. For the rest, if there are "basic" things that breeders look to cull out when chicks are 6 months and younger, please let me know.

Thanks!
    Diane

2. BoldogKennel

Jan 29, 2010
    Washington State
    Bump

3. BoldogKennel

Jan 29, 2010
    Washington State
    ANY serious breeders out there?

4. X2Farm

X2Farm Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 6, 2010
    Homer, GA
    While I have no clue about game birds, my suggestion is to pick up a copy of the American Standard of Perfection, you can purchase it from the APA website, and it'll have the breed standard within, as well as other good information for any breeding [​IMG]

http://www.amerpoultryassn.com/APA_ShoppingMall3.htm

5. gjensen

gjensen Overrun With Chickens

Feb 22, 2011
    Midlands, South Carolina