SERIOUSLY?? Snow in May???

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by HHandbasket, May 15, 2011.

1. HHandbasket

HHandbasket The Chickeneer

Okay, I'm new to this mountain living and stuff, but day before yesterday, it was almost 80 degrees outside & I was walking down by the alpaca pastures wearing a skirt and sandals. It was GORGEOUS. Today's my day off, and there were BIG PLANS to actually get some fall gardening underway here. I am behind because of the move 6 weeks ago & didn't get a spring garden this year because our former landlords announced they were selling our house & that we had to move as soon as possible. They told us this RIGHT after I had finished all the ground prep, had augmented the soil with prepared compost and turned it over and made 11 rows, 12 feet long each for planting food. The next day after completing this (which I had worked on for 3 weeks by hand with a shovel and hoe since our tiller was broken), we were told we would have to move. So no spring garden.

It's apparently a good thing I didn't get one in the ground once we moved here because we woke up this morning and are under about half a foot of snow.

On the 15th of May. In California.

I've never known it to snow here at this low of an elevation past early April, and even THAT is rare.

So much for gardening today.

edited for typos

Last edited: May 15, 2011
  2. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop
    Please send a little of that cold air this way.

3. Red&Yellow

Red&Yellow Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 30, 2009
    Frederick County, MD
    [​IMG] [​IMG] Oh my....And I thought it was bad when it snowed the end of March....

Too bad about your garden, glad you didn't get one planted here yet! Good luck!

4. Dunkopf

Dunkopf Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 24, 2010
    Kiowa, Colorado