Setting up my first incubator! (oh so many questions!)

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Shayna, Aug 3, 2011.

1. Shayna

Shayna I [IMG]emojione/assets/png/2665.png?v=2.2.7[/IMG]

Aug 2, 2011
    Midwest
    Newbie here.... Sooo stressful!! Hoping I do everything right - especially with the stress of knowing if I don't get these eggs hatched, it's pretty late in the season for do-overs. (no pressure!)

I have silkie eggs arriving mid next week. LG 9200 set up with a 12v computer fan in it, currently running fluctuating about 99 - 101 degrees over the last 24 hours. I'm currently looking for a water wiggler thing to get a better idea of temperature.

The humidity is at 16%, and when I add a little water it appears to spike to about 65%. I know that I want the humidity low for the first 17 days, like around 40% I think? How important is it to regulate the humidity in the first couple weeks? I'm trying to figure out how to get it right. I am wondering if I should put a sponge underneath the screen? And on the 18th day, how do I figure out how much more water to add without messing it up terribly bad?

I'm picking up an egg turner on Friday, and I'll be adding nonslip mat onto the screen when I remove the egg turner and go into lockdown. Is there any special way to arrange the eggs in the turner? I believe the turner holds about 36 eggs and I'll be putting in 2 dozen, so I'm curious if there's a strategy on which spots to leave empty like center, or sides, etc. The eggs go in the turner pointy side down when I receive them, is that right? And I candle at 8 days for the first time? Since the weather is in the 80s, should I just put them right in the incubator when I receive them?

I'm really hoping for a successful run here, and thank you to anyone to can give me tips or advice to help me get there! Thanks for reading my lengthy post full of quetsions! [​IMG]

2. The Chickeneer

The Chickeneer ~A Morning's Crow~