Settling in for the night

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by wheelie, Nov 25, 2016.

1. wheelie

wheelie New Egg

Nov 23, 2016
    Southeast Michigan
    Newbie here. We just purchased 10, 8 month old hens 4 days ago. They are laying well and seem healthy. What does everyone's evenings look like? The first evening we had the outdoor coop light on as we were doing a modification on a door lock. Like clockwork, they all started roosting on the outside roost at or before dark. It was fairly nice that night. We moved them inside the roost for overnight. Second night was raining and colder. They were inside the roost and squatting. I hadn't yet suspended their food and it had tipped so they hadn't eaten that afternoon/evening. I feed them and then they flew up to roost and seemed content after the feed. Simular tonight only they were squatting in the roost by the small door again. I locked that, went around to the other side and shined my light in the big door and after a couple of minutes hanging out with them they started to fly up and settle in. Were they waiting for me to close up to feel settled? I was out there at dusk and they hadn't gone in yet. It was dark when I got out there. Thoughts? Are they still just getting used to new surroundings? There is a set up for a bulb inside the roost and a motion bulb outside the entire coop area.

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    [​IMG] They are adjusting to their new home. Don't be surprised if they take a break from laying. Moving to a new environment generally causes birds to take a break from laying. They will lay the first couple of days (eggs that were already in the reproductive tract) and then they will take a short break. Good luck with your flock.

3. wheelie

wheelie New Egg

Nov 23, 2016
    Southeast Michigan