Sex and breed of chicks, any clues??

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Helen29, Jun 1, 2011.

1. Helen29

Helen29 Out Of The Brooder

May 30, 2011
    Rochford
    Hi all,
    I'm new to this so please tell me if I'm doing something wrong, I usually do....
    This is my first year of being a chicken owner and I realize that there is no sure way of knowing, but I would love to have any opinions on what sex my chicks are. Also any info in breed would be good I think I know but I'm not 100%.
    This is my first (is this a crested black polish?, please correct me if I've written this wrong), it was hatched about 7 weeks ago it doesn't have a comb (yet) but does have teeny wattles, also I have noticed that it's black feather have taken on a petrol green sheen:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

My second has wattles with no comb and was also hatched 7 weeks ago:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I realize this is looking is looking very male, which is such a shame as I won't be able to keep it if it is a roo. I've been reading around and it seems that the wattles are a sure sign of sex at this age in a polish rooster, is this always the rule? It such a lovely, friendly, calm chick.

I also have this chick, bought from my local nursery with another chick two weeks ago. I was told that they were eight weeks old, seen as the new chicks were smaller than my, then, five weeks old polish I gave an uneducated guess at them being more like 4 weeks old. Making this chick 6 weeks?? I have noticed it is growing a tuft on it's head can someone please tell me what this is and what it indicates?

[​IMG]

And finally I have a pic of my four babies:

[​IMG]

I think I have two (crested??) polish, a blue maran and a light sussex. If anyone one knows better I would appreciate some input!!

Thanks in advance for your time x

2. Pinky

Pinky Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 15, 2008
    South GA