Sex these Easter Eggers... Round 2!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by adventureben, Dec 3, 2010.

1. adventureben

adventureben Out Of The Brooder

Sep 26, 2010
    I posted a few weeks ago (below) about my 2 new chicks, which are apparently EE's after a lenghty discussion on this site. They are now 8-9 weeks old and I'd love some additional input about their gender. One has a plume-like tale that males me think rooster (chick a), and the comb on the other is looking big and pink which also makes me think rooster (chick b). But I'm very new at this, so I don't really know what I'm talking about. They both started chipmunk colored and have turned black/white since their last molt. All opinions are appreciated! Here are some pictures to help you decide:

chick a- frontside
    [​IMG]

chick a - rearside
    [​IMG]

chick b - back profile
    [​IMG]

chick b - front profile
    [​IMG]

both chicks (a front left, b back right) - front profile
    [​IMG]

both chicks (a on right, b on left) rear side
    [​IMG]

both chicks (a back right, b front left) - above (sorta)
    [​IMG]

This was my original post from last month

I got these auracana chicks from a local breeder. I was told they were both girls because they had smallest combs. They are currently about 4 weeks old and I've started to notice that one is slightly darker than the other. I've read on this site that in some breeds the females are darker. Then today I noticed the the lighter one had grown a plume of feathers on his/her rump (seemingly overnight). I'm begining to suspect that it's a rooster... but I'd greatly appreciate some other opinions considering this is our first flock.

They're quite quick... so I wasn't able to get a good picture. If they become more photogenic later on I will try and post more.

This picture shows the color difference (rooster on the right?)
    [​IMG]

Here you can kinda see the tail feathers (roo on the left?)
    [​IMG]