Sexing 3 week old chicks? * PICTURE HEAVY*

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by gg706, Apr 10, 2012.

1. gg706

gg706 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 5, 2011
    I have a mix of Araucanas, Lavender Orpingtons, and Blue Laced Red Wyandottes. They are 3 weeks old. At 3 weeks old I see some changes taking place...however this is my first time raising chicks so I am not sure what to look for. I would like to find out as soon as possible who are pullets and who are roos. I have a few gut feelings about a few being roos [​IMG] I wasn't planning on keeping any roos, they were going to be raised up to be butchered. Also would be my first time butchering anything. Now I find myself getting attached to them. If I posted pics of them would experienced BYC members be able to sex them with some accuracy, or are they still too young?

Last edited: Apr 12, 2012
  2. crazychickenwom

crazychickenwom Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 10, 2012
    Central Ohio
    Can't hurt to post, never know if the opinions will be right, but it couldn't hurt! Good Luck!

3. PeakyBeaky

PeakyBeaky Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 27, 2010
    Bellefonte, PA
    Post some photos, can't hurt to see what we think.

4. gg706

Jul 5, 2011
    I will post some....I'll go take some pics! Thanks!

5. StarLover21

StarLover21 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 11, 2011
    Yup, pictures will do the trick. If you don't want to butcher them, you can always sell them!

6. gg706

Jul 5, 2011
    Here some pics of a few of them... I will post 2 pics of each chick

Chick 1- ARAUCANA
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Chick 2- ARAUCANA
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Chick 3- ARAUCANA small but spars with others sometimes
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Chick 4-ARAUCANA........ Is bigger than the other Araucanas spars with others sometimes
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Chick 5- ARAUCANA
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Chick 6- LAVENDER ORPINGTON 1 of 2 that look the same both are large- spars with others

[​IMG]

[​IMG]