Sexing 5 in a half week old muscovy ducklings

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by brandy21410, Mar 2, 2017.

1. brandy21410

brandy21410 Chillin' With My Peeps

I know I should wait until they get older but Iam far too anxious. I was hoping some experts would be able to tell me how many drakes/females I have?!
    The blue one is the most fiesty and is o e of the biggest one. Also I have them outside full time since the weather permitts and they do not get up and run arroubd alot. I have been supplementing niacin but idk if that is eveb the problem. I feed them 24% protein feed just like my chickens. Its Swans natural poultry feed. TIA and sorry for all the threads I am very new to duck keeping.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Also I am pretty sure that one is a magpie colored but the one blue one seems to be barred is that right? Any suggestions.?

2. WillGriffin03

WillGriffin03 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 5, 2016
    Macedon Ranges
    Good luck

3. Devw

Devw Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 15, 2015
    Johnstown, Colorado
    Hi! Fellow musky breeder here.

By now, it should be fairly obvious what gender you have. Muscovy drakes are longer in body type, heavier, have BIG feet, wide tail feathers (like an expanded fan), and flat beaks (I like to call them platypus beaks ;) ). The hens are smaller, lighter, have tiny feet, have a pointier tail (like a partially closed fan), and a pointier beak.

It's a little hard to tell in your photos, so hopefully those guidelines will help. It looks like you have two drakes and two hens (the blue one is probably male, and the smaller white one is female. The duck with the brown head is female. The magpie is probably male.). Also, drakes will start developing their mask sooner and will get almost twice the size of the females.