Sexing juveniles

Discussion in 'Peafowl' started by hvnsnt3388, Feb 9, 2011.

1. hvnsnt3388

hvnsnt3388 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 9, 2011
    I have 2 peafowl that are about 10 months old. They look very very similar. Is there a way to generally tell a male from a female? I think I have 2 males. Their necks are almost completely blue and someone told me that if the green turns more blue then they are males. They also seem to have longer tail feathers than the females I have seen. I am new to peacocks but have alot of experience with other fowl. Any help would be appreciated!!!!!

2. Kev

Kev Overrun With Chickens

Jan 13, 2008
    Sun City, California
    Sure sounds like males. By this age, females are identical to any adult peahen of the same color(compare to blue peahens if they are blues, etc). Blue peahens have solid mud brown body with only green on their necks. Boys this age have variable blue/green on necks plus tons of the little bars/stripes all over their back and especially the wings.

3. zazouse

zazouse Overrun With Chickens

Sep 7, 2009
    Southeast texas
    Welcome to the pea fowl world [​IMG]

Well mine are 5 months old in this photo they are all females except the second from the right.

If you have indian blues the males will have barring on most of their feathers where as the female will be solid
    [​IMG]

here's 2 females
    [​IMG]

My male this shows the barring a bit better
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

4. hvnsnt3388

Feb 9, 2011
    Thanks!
    The pictures all look like them both! I gues I just don't have an eye for it. Ill get photos and post them tomorrow. Maybe that will help!

5. zazouse

Sep 7, 2009
    Southeast texas
    LOL
    i understand, seeing them in person makes a big difference, so get some photos when ya can and someone here will tell ya exactly what ya got.

6. hvnsnt3388

Feb 9, 2011
    I cant get the photos from my phone to upload....so, I'll try this.