sexing muscovies?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by kiwi-chookn, Jul 22, 2010.

1. kiwi-chookn

kiwi-chookn Out Of The Brooder

Aug 15, 2009
    Hi guys.
    How can I sex My 12wk old muscovies.
    I noticed on an older male that he has the begining of a lump in the centre/back of his bill.
    is a sex pointer?

2. chicksbestfriend

chicksbestfriend Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 12, 2010
    Maui, Hawaii
    Do you have any pictures that you can post? I am by no means an expert at sexing Muscovys, they are supposedly the only breed that cannot be sexed from hatching, but since the last hatching I had, I am runnning at about 83% accurate on my observations or guessing techniques. I have noticed in the Muscovy's, the drakes legs are alot thicker and their feet are larger and span out a little more than the hens. The drakes are also alot heavier/taller looking and the hens are a little more petite/shorter looking. The drakes, their heads are larger than the hens and there is also a distinction in their neck size and the curvature of it, but hard to explain exactly what I notice in the necks, as I am still reasearching those trait. Once the ducks are around 5 or 6 weeks old, their prominent features stand out. The hens also have a really soft and smooth look to their expressions, where the drakes give off a more harsh looking expression. I also track the ducks that I sell....... so from my experience with the Muscovys, I am pretty satisfied with the end results. I havent come to a conculsion yet if the coloring or size of the beaks give off any clues, but I have noticed at maturity, the drakes beaks are longer too. The beaks are the next feature that I am looking forward into studying. Do you have any pictures that you can post?

3. zazouse

zazouse Overrun With Chickens

Sep 7, 2009
    Southeast texas
    Chicksbestfriend gave a great description.

Here is a male and female i have at my place, i think they are around 4 months old in this photo ,