Sexing two Black Copper Marans and a Mille Fleur D'Uccle

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by vonemmel, Aug 8, 2013.

1. vonemmel

vonemmel New Egg

Jul 30, 2013
    Hi folks, any help is appreciated in sexing these three chicks. This is my first time raising chickens. My city, Oakland, doesn't allow roosters. So, I will need to rehome the cockerels.

The first two are Black Copper Marans and the third is a Mille Fleur D'Uccle bantam.

Chick # 1 (Therese/Terry) - Black Copper Maran
    She/he is a sweet docile chick, and lower in the pecking order. However, the chick is slow to feather and has a sizable comb.

[​IMG]

Chick #1 at 10 days old

[​IMG]

Chick #1 at 10 days old

Chick #2 (Monique/Manny) - Black Copper Maran
    From the beginning, chick #2 has had an assertive personality, and gets on top of my hand every time I feed the chicks. The chick is often the first to explore the unknown. He/she tries to bump chest with the eldest chick, a 6 week old pullet.

[​IMG]
    Chick #2, Manny/Monique, at 10 days, is on your right.

[​IMG]
    Combs at week two - Chick #1, Therese/Terry, is on your right. Chick #2, Manny/Monique is on your left.

[​IMG]

The combs at week three - Chick #1 is on your left. Chick #2 is on your right.

Chick #3 (Edie/Eddie) - Mille Fleur D'Uccle
    She/he is quick and has jumped on top of the older splash orpington (on right below). She/he is fast to feather and has very little comb.

[​IMG]
    At two weeks old, chick #3 is on your left. Note the quick feathering. (A splash orpington pullet is on the right)

[​IMG]
    Chick #3 at two weeks is on far left. Chick #1 at two weeks old is in middle (The orpington at 5 weeks old is on right.)

2. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013