Shavings? Deep liter Method

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Jewellan, Mar 9, 2014.

1. Jewellan

Jewellan Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 3, 2014
    Reno Nevada
    Hello, I am totally new to this myself. What type of shavings do I use for the deep litter method? Is there an article or book that I can read about this? Or can anyone tell me ........ do you removed the shavings after a period of time or just keep adding to them?[​IMG] I hate to sound like an idiot, but I am ignorant about this. [​IMG] Education PLEASE!

2. foreverlearning

foreverlearning Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 4, 2013
    The deep litter method is a compost pile in your coop. You can use pine shavings (takes a little longer), hay, straw, leaves, or grass clippings as bedding. The idea is to add new bedding on top as needed and let the chickens do the work of stirring it. The starting bedding needs to be 4 inches thick. If there is an area that they are not scratching in and it needs to be stirred you can throw a little scratch on it and they will stir it for you. You want to make sure that the bedding cannot get wet by flooding to prevent mold growth. Everyone has a different schedule for clean outs but the most popular are once a year and every 6 months. You can remove the bedding and add straight to your garden as the poop has already been composted in it. If done properly there is a light to no smell at all. If it stinks then there is not enough bedding being added.

1 person likes this.
  3. moetrout

moetrout Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2010
    Milan, MI