She did it!!! My first broody ever hatched her first brood! Updated with pics!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by iamcuriositycat, Apr 21, 2012.

1. iamcuriositycat

iamcuriositycat Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2009
    Charlotte, NC
    She started with six eggs and only two ended up developing past a week or two. Just now went outside & reached under her to see how the eggs were coming, and pulled out baby chickens instead!!!

She is such a sweet broody. She talks to me when I reach under her, but never protests much, and then when I put the eggs or babies back under her, she tucks them in place and goes back to brooding. Soooo sweet!

Anyway. I've hatched eggs in an incubator for several years, but this is my first time with a broody, and it's her first time ever, so I'm tickled that it went so well. Babies look healthy and vigorous and cute--both appear to be silver (she's silver and the rooster is blue). I'll post pics as soon as she brings them out to show the world.

Speaking of which--question--how much is it okay for me to mess with them while she's still sitting on them? She doesn't seem perturbed by it particularly, and goes right back to sitting on them when I put them back, but I'm hesitant to take them out more than the once I already have. Is it okay to take them out, snap photos, and then put them back? And how soon can the kids start handling them so they end up friendly and sweet like their mama?

Thanks!

Last edited: Apr 21, 2012
  2. CorinneP

CorinneP Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2012
    Up State New York