1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

She started, now she stopped

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by whoacowboy, Aug 1, 2011.

1. whoacowboy

whoacowboy Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 6, 2011
    Town of Clayton
    My young red star has laid a few shell-less eggs...but that was weeks ago. She got out of the run one night and our hunting dog chased her around for a while. She took off in the fields. We had our dog track her so we could bring her home. She was fine besides being shook up. But since that day, she hasn't been laying. Now what? [​IMG]

2. kaybats

kaybats Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2011
    [​IMG]

I'm no expert by any means but it sure sounds to me like is just plain STRESSED....the poor girl. I don't know how big your dog is, but I'm sure it's much bigger than she is and she. was. scared!

Are you giving enough calcium? Oyster shells? That seems to be the cure for shell-less eggs. I started offering them to my girls about a month ago and their first eggs were quite sturdy. They are just over 21 weeks.

I'm so glad you got her back safely....I'm sure someone with more experience will be along shortly.....

3. whoacowboy

Jul 6, 2011
    Town of Clayton