1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Shipped Chick Care.... Please Read!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by BabyandCotton, Jun 25, 2016.

1. BabyandCotton

BabyandCotton Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 14, 2016
    Florida
    I just ordered 15 wheaten OEGB from Cackle,(they'll be here August 12) and this is my first time reiciving shipped chicks, and I have a few questions.
    1. Do I need to buy electrolytes, and if so, what brand?
    2. What type of bedding should I use? I usually use newspaper with Aspen but do they need something else?
    3. Should I grind their food to make it smaller?
    4. What time does the post office call, or does the Hatchery call?

Last edited: Jun 25, 2016
  2. critterkeeper25

critterkeeper25 Chillin' With My Peeps

We also ordered chicks from Cackle Hatchery, that was 2 years ago. We bought probiotic and electrolyte packets from Tractor Supply. They are pretty dehydrated from the long trip, so we took each chick out of the box and dipped it's beak into the water to make sure that each one drank as soon as it was placed into the brooder box. The probiotics are a little reassurance that their tummies will be OK. We also ground up their feed a little. We put our chicks onto newspaper covered with pine shavings.
    Good luck with your chicks!

1 person likes this.
  3. BabyandCotton

Jun 14, 2016
    Florida
    Thank you !!!

4. BabyandCotton

Jun 14, 2016
    Florida
    Would boiled egg be good to give them for the first few days along with starter?

5. Outpost JWB

Outpost JWB Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2014
    Ohio