Shipped eggs, received FOUR eggs-tras! :) The only problem is....

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by misslady, Sep 29, 2011.

1. misslady

misslady Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2011
    The Great Lakes.
    My incubator is not BIG enough!

I purchased the Brinsea mini advance because of all the great things I have heard about Brinsea's incubators, and while I was excited and ready to go for it, I simply didn't want to spend the super big bucks to get something any bigger. So my issue is that I ordered 6 hatching eggs from My Pet Chicken and they sent me 4 extras, which is GREAT, but all of the eggs look to be in good condition. And while I know I could just chuck a couple of the extra eggs, I would like to give them all a chance, since they are Blue Splash and Black Copper Marans. I know I can take my turning tray out and they will all fit, but I am cautious of hand turning because I don't want to chill the eggs, (this is my first time incubating too, FYI, and I am SO excited and nervous.) Should I try that? And could I put the turning tray back in if they don't all turn out to be viable after candling? Or (and maybe this will be a really silly question) could I try to mark the eggs and sort of stack them on top of each other and watch to see if they turn enough?

Any input is appreciated, I'm a total newbie to this so I need the experience and wisdom of all of you chicken experts on here! [​IMG] Thanks a bunch!

2. stephanie1992

stephanie1992 Chillin' With My Peeps

Quote:id hand turn them, turn them 3 times a day, and u dnt have to worry about them chilling, it wont take long to turn them, put an x on one side an O on the other so each day u turn the x to the O and soo on.. good luck!

3. corancher

corancher Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 18, 2007
    Colorado