Shipping Eggs too Dry. Why?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by TaylorHobbyFarms, Jun 10, 2011.

1. TaylorHobbyFarms

TaylorHobbyFarms Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 2, 2010
    I have been hatching eggs for quite a few years. The last three sets of eggs I ordered I have had extreme trouble hatching. My last batch I had 15 Jersey Giant eggs and 8 Brown Leghorn eggs. These were the eggs that passed the viability test at Day 18, meaning they were all fertile and had chicks inside. On Day 21 I hatched 11 of my Jersey Giants, but only 1 of my Brown Leghorns. After waiting 24 hours after the first chick hatched, I took out the 12 chicks and noted that 2 of the Leghorn eggs had pipped considerably, but were the driest I ever saw. I took some warm water and was able to get the shell off of them, something they could not have possibly done. The hatcher shows humidity between 70 and 78 so I have no idea why the eggs would be so dry. I do keep the humidity low during the first 18 days, but since my eggs from my own flocks hatched so well, I think I am doing everything right, but wonder if there is something extra I can do for eggs I received through the mail. Is this common? Any advice would be appreciated. Just for further information, I set 17 eggs two weeks ago that I received in a shipment and only hatched 4 out of 9 fertile, but with my last Jersey Giant hatch, hatched 100%.

2. debilorrah

debilorrah The Great Guru of Yap Premium Member

Your hygrometer took a dump mid hatch. That just happened to me recently as well. I saw the humidity said 95% and the wells were empty.

3. Chickiebabyfluff

Chickiebabyfluff Yappette in Training

Apr 13, 2011
    NorthEastern Ohio
    Quote:[​IMG] girl you make me giggle!! [​IMG][​IMG]

4. marquisella

marquisella Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 30, 2009
    Quote:I think that shipped eggs dry out while in transit, especially if they are sent via air.