Shipping Fertile Eggs Question

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by simpsoncj, Jan 26, 2014.

1. simpsoncj

simpsoncj Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 27, 2009
    I am considering having some fertile eggs shipped to me. The trip will not be a long one, a 5-6 hour drive, but no telling how the box gets treated by the post office. I believe the person selling the eggs does a great job of packing them. (each egg wrapped in bubble wrapped and placed in it's own little box and then those boxes packed into a larger box with more padding/packing peanuts) I am wondering if any of you could tell me of your success/failure rate with "shipped" eggs? I am more concerned with the inside of the egg being damaged than the outside since I will be able to see any problems on the outside right away but will set the eggs only to find they don't hatch if there is a problem on the inside. Also, since this is my first time hatching eggs that I have bought from someone else, are there certain questions I should be asking/things I should know?
    Thanks so much for any help you can give!
    Cathryn

2. Coopnana

Coopnana Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 27, 2013
    north Idaho
    We've ordered some shipped eggs from fairly close by and some from very far away...they all were packed well and had no breakage. Hatch rate initially disappointing, but mostly with incubator and learning the process. We are now attempting the 2nd hatch with the eggs traveling the furthest distance...several were not fertile, and we have 2-3 where the air cell is not developing properly, but on a positive side we have almost a dozen slilky eggs under two different broody hens (wasn;t that lucky) and then the 2-3 questionable ones in the incubator. :jumpy

oh and I did leave a note with my postal carrier on where to deliver the eggs when coming ...she also raises chickens...so was very careful and curious on how things went.

Last edited: Jan 26, 2014
  3. simpsoncj

Dec 27, 2009