Should i add water in the incubator or not in my case?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by egrif, Mar 21, 2016.

1. egrif

egrif Out Of The Brooder

Mar 21, 2016
    Hi, I am new to incubation. I did a lot of researches and all till now is going great, in terms of temperature. My issue is that we are now in march. and where I live has almost 45-50% humidity. so humidity reader in my DIY incubator is reading 50%, which I think is good for a range during the first 18 days of incubation. The big question is: Since the humidity reader is showing 50% humidity level (Humidity reader is faultless tested with another one), Can I not add water for the incubator? will the embryo get stuck to the shell if it is only getting humid from the atmosphere I live in? Thank you in advance.

2. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY
    For the first 17 days, if that is truely how high it is w/o water, I certainly wouldn't add water until lockdown when you need it 65%+
    As long as my humidity stays above 25% I run dry. I prefer 30% and unless I am hatching fall/winter I usually achieve that dry. I would candle at days 7 and 14 and makes sure that the air cells are loosing enough moisture, if not you may want to try to draw more moisture out with either uncooked rice or unpopped popcorn. I've seen people say either one or the other has worked and I've seen people say neither worked, but it'd be worth a try.

3. egrif

egrif Out Of The Brooder

Mar 21, 2016
    thank you Amy for ur reply. Yes I was planning to candle my eggs on day 7. So no water will be added in my case until day 18. Do you think I should bring my humidity low as to 40-45%? Thank very again, appreciate it.

4. AmyLynn2374

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY