Should I be concerned about a wet duck

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by KaLo, Jan 31, 2014.

1. KaLo

KaLo Out Of The Brooder

Apr 25, 2013
    North Florida
    I have 2 Blue Swede ducks. They are about 5 months old. This morning, one seems to be a lot "wetter" than the other after going in the pond. Not soaked to the bone but just not as water proof as she usually is like maybe she isn't getting enough oil on her feathers. It has been cold at night for the past week (35 F which is cold for our area). They just started laying eggs although there is one per day so not sure if it's just one of them laying or if they are both laying every other day.

My question is - could there be a problem with the wet one? Should I be adding something to their diet to encourage oil production? They free range during the day and get Dumor Poultry Layer and peas or greens at night.

I am a novice so any advice from you guys is appreciated!!

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    Do they get feed during the day too? sounds like only at night. I'm a stickler for feeding my flock feed all through out the day and their foraging is the supplement to that. Just starting out laying requires alot of nutrients so I'd offer some Poultry vitamins in their water a couple times a week too. Usually preening stimulates the oil gland so if she is bathing daily maybe her preen gland isn't working right for some reason. Might want to have a look at it to make sure all is well. I usually see this in my older ducks at the end of season right before molt and begin to offer extra vitamins to help them through, I'm surprised mine don't all look berangled with the weather we've been having and no water for them to bathe in. How is she other wise eating good drinking good? acting normal ?

3. KaLo

KaLo Out Of The Brooder

Apr 25, 2013
    North Florida