should I be getting eggs?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by sheila3935, Sep 13, 2010.

1. sheila3935

sheila3935 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2010
    Stonington, illinois
    I have a khaki campbell duck and a crested runner drake They are about 5 to 6 months old. They just recently started mating. Should I be getting eggs? or is she hiding them that I am not finding. I know that alot of times the campbells dont go broody so I though I might put them in the incubator. I am new to ducks so I dont know alot about them. Please any advise appreciated

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    I don't know anything about your setup, so it is possible she may be hiding them. My runners lay around 5 or 6 in the morning most of the time. During that time they are in their house or fenced porch, so all the eggs are there (and sometimes hidden).

Depending on how often the drake is mating with her, that could slow down her egg production. The recommended ratio of males to females that I have read is one drake to a minimum of three ducks. There is a risk of injury to her, especially if the drake is (how do I say this) rough on her.

All of my runners were laying by the time they were four months old.

By the way, what are you feeding them?

3. katharinad

katharinad Overrun with chickens