Should I fence?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by PolloAdoro, Nov 1, 2010.

1. PolloAdoro

PolloAdoro Out Of The Brooder

Nov 1, 2010
    Conifer, Colorado
    Hello,
    I am a long time lurker, new member of this site. I have been raising chickens for the past 2 years, but currently don't have any. We had a large bear break into my coop at 2am and it was a total massacre-lost 20 chickens is a matter of 1-2 min. We are now starting over with a new and improved predator proof coop. My sweet husband leveled of an area of trees in the woods for their new home, in an area that will allow a larger outdoor access to the birds. I have about 3/4 of an acre for the birds. My question is -should I invest an electrical fence? I will have about 20 hens and 2 roosters. We live at 9000 feet in Colorado (we get lots of snow), foxes, bears, raccoons, hawks etc. I recently spoke with a fellow chicken owner and he said that an electrical fence wasn't necessary if I have roosters since they will "alert" the hens of predators. He suggested I place a few of those plastic owls with the red eyes up in a few of the trees, and that will help too. I'm talking day time scenario here, as they will be on total lock down in the evenings. So, what do you think? Invest in an electrical fence or no? Thanks for your advice.

2. Sir Birdaholic

Sir Birdaholic Night Knight

With those type of large predators, I would go with the electric fence.

3. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    I sure would. Particularly since you have already had a bear incident.

Having a roo alert yer hens is not going to do any good whatsoever in the middle of the night (because while it is possible to build a coyoteproof coop, it is NOT possible to build a BEARproof coop, not without high voltage anyhow); and even in daytime, I would not count on everybody necessarily getting away. Specially yer rooster himself.