Should I get a few chickens or ducks??

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by newgirlforsure, Apr 4, 2016.

1. newgirlforsure

newgirlforsure Out Of The Brooder

Apr 4, 2016
    I didn't know where to post this question. I have been doing some research but I want to talk to an experienced person about this. I live in town with a yard that we will be fencing in this summer. I am allowed to have a couple chickens or a couple ducks. I am leaning towards ducks??

I am looking for
    1. a pet that we will be at LEAST semi-friendly.
    2. Will provide eggs.

I don't have anything yet. I have some experience with fast grower chickens. I have helped raise and butcher them which is horrible and I don't ever want to butcher again. I have never had experience with laying hens except for gathering eggs when my friends are out of town. My friend had some little ducklings and they seemed a lot more laid back than little chicks and seemed to enjoy being handled more. Can anyone give me any insight into this? Which is easier to have in the yard chickens or ducks? Are ducks super noisy, as in would my neighbors complain about them? Thanks and sorry for the crazy question.

2. cavemanrich

cavemanrich Overrun With Chickens

Apr 6, 2014
    Melrose Park Illinois
    I suggest a couple of bantams, Friendly and quiet. Ducks do need a small pond/pool to be happy IMO. They will soil the water in a small pool quickly. I'm a city slicker myself and keep only chickens as pets.
    Wishing you best..[​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  3. TLWR

TLWR Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2010
    southern AL
    I have both ducks and chickens.
    I have chickens because for eating, I don't like the yolk in duck eggs. For baking, not a problem, but I'm not a fan of yolk to begin with, so the larger and stronger yolk of ducks is not to my taste.

IMO